Al Franken: God Spoke

  • When Al Franken receives a message from God that he should take on the political right, he hangs up his Stuart Smalley wig and picks up his flaming sword of justice to go after the Bush administration and the media wonks who do its bidding.


    From his USO tour in Iraq, to the studios of liberal radio network Air America and on the campaign trail, filmmakers Nick Doob and Chris Hegedus are granted entry to one of the most effective political satirists of our time. Franken fearlessly confronts pundits and politicians, blurring the boundaries between political satire and impassioned citizenry.


    Featuring a host of beltway pundits and politicians including Ann Coulter, Michael Moore, Al Gore, John Kerry, Robert Kennedy Jr., Sean Hannity, William Safire, Karen Hughes and Henry Kissinger, the film is an hilarious look behind the front lines of the media wars during the most contentious election in recent history. But ultimately, the film is a personal drama of transformation, as Al Franken leaves his comedy days behind and moves from his seat in the sidelines to become a contender inside the political ring.


    “Smoothly paced, well-crafted pic.”— Joe Leydon, Variety


    “I take what they say and use it against them.  What I do is jujitsu.”  — Al Franken

  • A film by Nick Doob and Chris Hegedus Executive Producer D A Pennebaker Produced by Rebecca Marshall, Frazer Pennebaker Associate Producer: Walker Lamond Editors: Nick Doob, Chris Hegedus Camera: Nick Doob, Chris Hegedus Addtional Camera: Walker Lamond, Rebecca Marshall Featuring: Al Franken with Katherine Lanpher President George Bush Tucker Carlson Vice President Dick Cheney Senator Hillary Clinton Senator Norm Coleman Anne Coulter Janeane Garofalo President Al Gore Tipper Gore Sean Hannity Karen Hughes Brit Hume Molly Ivens Robert F. Kennedy Jr. Senator Bob Kerry Senator John Kerry Henry Kissinger Jay Leno Rush Limbaugh Senator Zell Miller Vice President Walter Mondale Michael Moore Bill O’Reilly Senator Chuck Schumer Gov. Arnold Schwartzeneger William Safire Senator Paul Wellstone